Humanitarian Award

2022 nominations are now closed.

In 2011, Forum 400 established the Humanitarian Award. The purpose of the award is to recognize members who are dedicated to making a difference in the lives of others and their communities through their leadership and involvement. 

The Humanitarian Award is presented to individuals who recognize the difference between their talents and their character. It has been said, "talents come to us as gifts and character comes to us by choice," and this is precisely what the Humanitarian Award symbolizes. The Forum 400 recognizes a Humanitarian as someone who is guided through their lives and daily choices by the following principles: 

  • Giving of oneself regardless of compensation
  • An unconditional commitment to the values of integrity and honesty
  • The pursuit of initiatives bigger than oneself by dedicating time to help improve the lives of others

All submissions will be reviewed and winner chosen by the Humanitarian Award Committee. The Award will then be conferred at the Annual Meeting.

Past Humanitarian Award Recipients:

2020: Mitch Ostrove, CLU, ChFC, AEP, LACP
2018: Gerry Sacks
2017: Simon Singer, CFP, CAP, RFC
2016: Edward E. Leisher, CLU
2015: Joel Koenig, CAP, AEP, CLU
2014: Howard Silverman, CLU, ChFC, CAP
2012: Leon L. Levy, CLU, RHU
2011: D. Scott Brennan 

The SID Award


The Forum 400 Annual Meeting provides the ultimate venue for sharing ideas within Forum 400.
Do you have an idea to share with your colleagues? Bring it to the Annual Meeting, where you’ll have an opportunity to present your idea in 90 seconds or less at the Fast and Furious Sales Ideas session.

Plus, compete for the chance to win the coveted annual SID Award, named after industry leader and 1994 Forum 400 President Sidney A. Friedman, CLU, ChFC, MSFS, RHU, LUTCF. Launched at the 2006 Annual Meeting, the SID Award recognizes the individual with the No. 1 sales idea presented during the Fast and Furious Sales Ideas session.

Past SID Award Recipients:

2021: Vijay Khetarpal, CLU, ChFC, CFP, AIF
2020: Dave Alison, CFP, EA
2019: Jason Smith, CEP, CLTC
2018: Howard Sharfman
2017: Brian N. Byars
2016: Michael J. O'Donnel
2015: Michael Amoia, JD, LLM, CFP, CLU, ChFC
2014: Kenneth Michael Fink
2013: Todd S. Healy, CLU, ChFC, AEP
2012: Charles H. Baldwin, MBA, CLU, ChFC
2011: Simon Singer
2010: Scotty Brennan
2009: Buzz W.W. Hankinson, CLU, ChFC, CFP
2008: Ralph Antolino Jr., JD, CLU, ChFC
2007: Ralph Antolino Jr., JD, CLU, ChFC
2006: Stephen O. Rothschild, CLU, ChFC, CRC, RFC